2019 Teaching Tribute Award

2019 Balasaraswati/Joy Anne Dewey Beinecke Endowed Chair for Distinguished Teaching

Teaching Tribute Ceremony

Thursday, June 27 | 8:00pm
Reynolds Industries Theater (Duke’s East Campus)

The 2019 Balasaraswati/Joy Anne Dewey Beinecke Endowed Chair for Distinguished Teaching will be awarded to celebrated rehearsal director Bettie de Jong in a ceremony on Thursday, June 27, 2019 at the top of the opening night performance of the Paul Taylor Dance Company at ADF.

“Your role as a rehearsal director has been an essential force that has kept Paul Taylor’s dances alive. This rarely acknowledged mode of teaching—so solitary, intuitive, and subtle—requires you to know, nurture, and honor the choreographer, the dancers, and the dances with patience and humility. It gives us great joy to honor your unparalleled dedication to the art of transmission.”- ADF Dean Leah Cox

About the Awardee

BETTIE DE JONG (Rehearsal Director) was born in Sumatra, Indonesia, and in 1946 moved to Holland, where she continued her early training in dance and mime.  Her first professional engagement was with the Netherlands Pantomime Company.  After coming to New York City to study at the Martha Graham School, she performed with the Graham Company, the Pearl Lang Company, John Butler and Lucas Hoving, and was seen on CBS-TV with Rudolf Nureyev in a duet choreographed by Paul Taylor.  Ms. de Jong joined the Taylor Company in 1962.  Noted for her strong stage presence and long line, she was Mr. Taylor’s favorite dancing partner and, as Rehearsal Director, was his surrogate in the studio and on tour for more than 40 years.




Past recipients of the Chair include Pearl Primus, Daniel Nagrin, Betty Jones, Bella Lewitzky, Anna Halprin, Donald McKayle, Bessie Schönberg, Matt Mattox, Pauline Koner, Viola Farber, Mary Anthony, Walter Nicks, Jane Dudley, Sophie Maslow, Pearl Lang, Martha Myers, Carmen De Lavallade, Gus Solomons jr, Gerri Houlihan, Dr. Charles “Chuck” Davis, Linda Tarnay, Douglas Nielsen, Dianne McIntyre, Carolyn Adams, Sharon Kinney, Ruth Andrien, Yang Meiqi, Donna Faye Burchfield, Ana Marie Forsythe, Phyllis Lamhut, Irene Dowd, Zvi Gotheiner, James Sutton, Jaclynn Villamil, Anne Green Gilbert, Liz Lerman, and Ana “Rokafella” Garcia and Gabriel “Kwikstep” Dionisio.